Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix is the first of 7 Shadow Children books. Luke is an illegal third child who, if caught, would be captured and killed by the Population Police. When the government chops down the forest next to his house for more houses, he is forced to remain indoors at all times. When he discovers a third child living across the street, he decides to live the safety of his room. He finds Jen Talbot, a leader for third children who wish to overthrow the government and the Population Law, allowing only 2 children per household. Luke thinks that maybe he can change the world and follows Jen's examples.

Among the Hidden is a great start for an even better series. It provides great cliffhangers where you just can't stop reading, and before you know it, you're done and want to read the next six books. The book makes you wonder why the government could discriminate against people just for being born and how this is reflective of us.

~Ravjot, Teen Book Reviewer

No comments:

Post a Comment